2014 Reading Challenge: Success!

I have been a really bad blogger and haven’t posted nearly as much as I had planned to, but all that time not posting has been taken up by reading. I set out to read 50 books this year and I am proud to say that I met my goal with time to spare! The books that finished off my challenge were the following:

Insurgent by Veronica Roth
Allegiant by Veronica Roth
Four by Veronica Roth
The Son of Neptune by Rick Riordan
The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan
Legend by Marie Lu
Confessions of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella
Shopaholic Takes Manhattan by Sophie Kinsella
Shopaholic Ties the Knot by Sophie Kinsella
Monster by Walter Dean Myers
Bridget Jones’ Diary by Helen Fielding
A Mango-Shaped Space by Wendy Mass (I picked this up for 25 cents from the library on a whim and ended up loving it.)
The House of Hades by Rick Riordan

The Rick Riordan books were a bit of a struggle to get through. I loved the Percy Jackson series, but this one just doesn’t do it for me. I read them more so because they were in the house and I needed something to read, rather than because I was really interested in them. The House of Hades took me a couple of months to finish because I kept putting it down and starting something else.

The Shopaholic books were a bit of a surprise. I found them all on the used books rack at my library, so I grabbed them and figured I could fly right through them and quickly add three books to my list. I actually enjoyed them! The first one is my favorite, but the other two were cute and entertaining as well.

As I mentioned above, I bought A Mango-Shaped Space simply because there was a cat on the cover, the book was in really good condition, and it was super cheap. Even if I hated it, it was worth a quarter to find out. I had no idea what it was about, but I ended up loving it. I’m a sucker for animals, especially books about cats, and this one did not disappoint. I don’t really want to say anything about it because it is so unique and lovely, and I want you to just pick it up and read it blindly and then fall in love like I did.

I’m not setting a reading goal for 2015. I have a bunch of Sailor Moon manga that I want to read, and I felt like with all the pictures, they wouldn’t count as actual books. However, I do still plan to read as much as possible. In fact, my husband bought me FangirlAttachments, and I’ll Give You the Sun for Christmas. I’ve already started Fangirl and am having a hard time putting it down to go to sleep.

One thought on “2014 Reading Challenge: Success!

Leave a Reply

