Book #23 of 2014: Paper Towns

It has become painfully obvious that I need to post reviews immediately after I read something, because I have already forgotten the entire plot of this book. I had to read a bunch of reviews on Goodreads and BN.com to jog my memory, and even now I am having difficulty separating this one from Looking for Alaska which is the first point I want to make: All John Green novels appear to be exactly the same, except the characters have different names and they take place in different settings. Other than that, the formula appears to be identical: quirky, awkward boy is in love with out-of-his-league girl, characters speak in painfully forced “hip” language, and everyone tries to much too hard to be deep and introspective.

Quentin is in love with Margo Roth Spiegelman (if I never have to read that name again, it will be too soon). Margo couldn’t care less about Q, but still shows up in his bedroom one night and drags him on a night-long adventure so she can get revenge on all of her “friends” who have wronged her at some point. She then disappears and the rest of the book is Q pining for her and setting out on a completely unbelievable road trip to find and rescue her.

I’ve now read all of Green’s work and I still don’t get it. Maybe I’m too old? The kids seem to love him and use words like “life changing” to describe his stories, but I just don’t buy them.

Leave a Reply

