Book #19 of 2014: Where’d You Go, Bernadette?

Bee Fox is a 15-year-old living in Seattle with her Microsoft genius father and her more than slightly unstable former-architect mother. Bee just received her report card and because she got all As at her prestigious prep school, she’s ready to claim the reward her parents promised her: a cruise to Antarctica. Only days before the trip, Bee’s mother, Bernadette, goes missing and no one even knows where to begin looking for her.

The writing style in this book is unlike any I’ve ever come across before. It’s told from past to present in the form of emails, random notes, letters, and articles all written by various characters. I wasn’t expecting this, and at first it took some getting used to until I was really able to follow the plot, but WOW. Once it gets going, it’s such a fun read!

Bernadette is quite a character and she only gets more and more interesting as the story develops. I saw a lot of myself in her, which is kind of unnerving because she has a huge amount of mental issues. Of course, she’s anti-social and eccentric to the extreme of endangering other people’s lives, and I am obviously not nearly that insane.

The whole Antarctic cruise thing really threw me at first because it seemed so random and out there, but after awhile I got used to it and it really seemed to fit in with the rest of the book. I really cannot recommend this one highly enough. It’s a nice, quick read, although it does take a bit of focus to keep all of the characters and plot lines straight. If you can manage that (I was on the verge of making a cheat sheet), you’ll be rewarded with a really original and well-thought out story.

3 thoughts on “Book #19 of 2014: Where’d You Go, Bernadette?

  1. I’ve had this on my radar, but something keeps preventing me from picking it up. No more. Glad to hear you enjoyed it so much! The premise is really interesting, and the Antarctic thread is very unique.

Leave a Reply

