Book #10 of 2014: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

This book caught my eye on the bookshelves of Barnes & Noble years ago when it first came out. The bright orange cover, upside-down dog, and title written in all lowercase intrigued me. I read the first couple of pages and put it on my mental to-read list. Apparently it has been on everyone else’s list because it’s been on hold at the library pretty much ever since, so I sort of forgot about it until now.

Christopher Boone is an autistic teen and has difficulty understanding people’s expressions, emotions, etc. He loves prime numbers, hates the colors yellow and brown, and can’t eat food if it is touching on his plate. He lives alone with his dad ever since his mom died. One night he is out for a walk and discovers that his neighbor’s dog has been brutally murdered in the front yard. He likes dogs, so he walks over and hugs it, immediately incriminating himself when the neighbor comes outside and sees him. He decides to write a book while he attempts to solve the murder, which leads him to discovering many things about his family he wasn’t quite prepared to face.

I wanted to love this book. I’ve heard great things about it and have read lots of favorable reviews. Maybe my expectations were too high? I didn’t love it, you guys. I can’t even say that I liked it. I found it long and drawn out, even though it’s relatively short at 240 pages. I skimmed large portions when Christopher was rambling about Sherlock Holmes or other things that didn’t contribute to the story in any way. I’m sure these entries were supposed to provide the reader more insight into how his mind worked, but I found them tedious and a waste of time. Christopher’s personality and quirks were clear from all of the other chapters that actually had to do with the investigation.

I’m glad I finally had a chance to check it out, but I don’t know that I would encourage anyone else to go out of their way to read it.

2 thoughts on “Book #10 of 2014: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

  1. This book had everyone all atwitter years ago, so I picked up a copy to join the fun. And . . . my reaction was similar to yours. At times I didn’t “get it,” and I found it so difficult to really immerse myself in Christopher’s world. I really didn’t enjoy it, and I think I abandoned it around page 70-ish.

    • Oh, that makes me feel SO much better. I thought I was a weirdo for not “getting” it or missing something about this book. Everyone I know absolutely loved it, and I just didn’t care for it at all.

Leave a Reply

