Book #2 of 2014: The Book of Tomorrow

I read this book in two sittings. I pretty much could not put it down, and thanks to my new old lady reading glasses, I didn’t even get a headache or eye strain. Win-win.

I read my first Cecelia Ahern book, P.S. I Love You, when I was working for the internet marketing company. It was sitting on the bookshelf in my little cube and I picked it up one day when I was alone in the office. I read the whole thing that day instead of doing website updates and submitting copy to B&N. I fell in love with her writing immediately, and it didn’t hurt that she’s Irish. I’ve since read Love, Rosie (although this one was difficult to get through because of all the intentional spelling mistakes), Thanks for the Memories, and If You Could See Me Now (Fabulous book! Go read it now if you haven’t already!).

The Book of Tomorrow and The Time of My Life were Christmas presents from hubby, and the only reason I chose to start reading Tomorrow first was because it was the thinner of the two. Highly scientific strategies at work over here.

Anyway. Tamara Goodwin is a 16-year-old spoiled rich girl whose father has just killed himself. She found him dead in his office, surrounded by pills and an empty whiskey bottle. She and her mother have to leave their life of luxury and move in with weirdo relatives who live in the middle of nowhere. Tamara leaves behind almost all of her material possessions, her friends, and her entire lifestyle. Her Aunt Rosaleen and Uncle Arthur are an odd duo — Rosaleen is absurdly nosy and Arthur communicates mostly in grunts and nods. Tamara’s mom won’t get out of bed, so she’s left to her own devices for entertainment.

She ends up meeting a hot 19-year-old traveling librarian and while investigating his library bus, she comes across a locked leather-bound book with no title or author. The cute librarian tells her to take it, and when she finally pries it open she discovers a diary entry written by her with tomorrow’s date. Turns out, every morning the entry erases and a new one appears, telling her exactly what is going to happen the following day.

I thought this was a phenomenal premise. Imagine knowing in advance exactly what will happen to you the following day so that you know which mistakes to avoid and what decisions to make. I could tell myself which phone calls to avoid at work and which ones to take! I really thought that the author had something with this idea, but then it didn’t go in the direction I was expecting at all — I figured Tamara would start writing directly to herself, telling her past self how to make life better, what to do to get her mom out of her depression, how to avoid Rosaleen’s snooping. And she did, to a point, but not in detail.

It’s clear from the beginning that Rosaleen and Arthur are hiding something, but I didn’t see the ending coming, which was a nice surprise. I hate when the plot is so transparent that I’m just sitting and waiting for the protagonist to figure it all out. I wish the plot line with the hot librarian had gone a different way, or been developed a little more, but those are minor complaints.

This is a quick, easy, and enjoyable read. Highly recommended. And seriously, go read Cecelia’s other books as well. Please don’t tell me that you already saw the P.S. I Love You movie so you don’t need to read the book. As with virtually every single book adaptation, the movie does not do the story justice.

2 thoughts on “Book #2 of 2014: The Book of Tomorrow

  1. I remember coming across this one a few years back, but don’t think I ever started it! I read Love, Rosie years ago and did enjoy it, so I think it’s time to try Ahern again!

Leave a Reply

