Inferno by Dan Brown

It only took me about a month, but I’ve finally finished Inferno by Dan Brown. I can usually fly through his books in a week because they’re so fast-paced, but pesky things like sleep and work kept getting in my way this time.

If you’ve read The DaVinci Code, Angels and Demons, and The Lost Symbol then you’re already familiar with everyone’s favorite smartypants symbologist, Robert Langdon. And if you’re not then get yourself to a library, stat, and read DaVinci and Angels. You can skip Symbol — I don’t think I even finished it, it was that hard to get through (although, my husband loved it, so to each their own).

Inferno brings us to Florence and Venice, which was enough to make me like the book. Anything set in Italy is instantly fascinating to me — I love reading books and watching movies that are set in places I have actually been. I haven’t traveled much, so anytime the few places I have been show up, I get all kinds of excited. I’m also a bit of a sucker for art history, and obviously books, so the combination of Italy/Dante/and Renaissance artwork is a winning trifecta of awesome.

This book is written pretty much exactly the same as the others: fast-paced, with cliffhangers at the end of each short chapter to make you want to keep reading despite it being past one in the morning on a weeknight. And when I say short chapters, I mean short chapters. Some are only a few pages, so before you know it you’re on Chapter 96 and you feel like a speed reading champion.

Robert Langdon wakes up in Florence with a head wound and has no idea how he got there or why. He’s almost immediately thrust into a wild life-and-death chase through town with a strange, bald female doctor he just met. He and Sienna race through Florence trying to evade the police and what appears to be the US government, trying desperately to piece together the few remnants of memories Robert can muster. He is once again in a position to save the world from a madman and has to solve riddles and clues left behind before time runs out.

I highly recommend Inferno if you’re a fan of intrigue and suspense. I don’t want to give too much away, but I did tell my husband that he has to read it ASAP so that I can discuss it with someone, so if you’ve read it, let me know!

Next on my list: re-reading To Kill a Mockingbird. I’m on Chapter 2 and I’m already loving it tons more than when I read it in high school!

Leave a Reply

