NaBloPoMo Success

Well, you guys, it’s November 30th which means it’s the last day of NaBloPoMo and I made it. I posted every single day this month even if I had nothing to say or I had to force something out of my brain and fingers. It was tougher than I thought it would be, but I enjoyed every single second of it.

It got me writing every day, but more than that, it got meĀ thinking about writing every day. It forced me to sit down at the keyboard and put my thoughts down on digital paper for the whole world to read.

It made me be more bloggy-sociable and I went out of my way to read other people’s posts. I forced myself to be brave and post comments and “like” strangers’ posts. It’s seriously unnerving to jump into the comments on someone’s blog for the first time when they already have a following. It makes you feel like some awkward teenager trying to hang out with the cool kids and you don’t want to say the wrong thing in case they all laugh at you. I took that risk MANY times this month and it was totally worth it. I’ve found new blogs that have been added to my Reader, I’ve followed new people on Twitter, and perhaps most rewarding of all: many of these people have reciprocated. I can’t tell you how excited it makes me to see that little quote icon at the top of the page lit up in orange. Getting an email that I have a new follower is like opening presents on Christmas morning. I’m still learning all the etiquette and rules surrounding these strange Internet relationships (How often should I comment without looking creepy? Should I “like” a post if I don’t have anything to say? I don’t want to appear over-eager, but I know how much I appreciate feedback from others.)

Will I continue posting every day? Absolutely not. But I will definitely be posting more often than I did pre-NaBloPoMo, and I suppose that’s really what this was all about. Well, that and the iPads that were up for grabs over at Blogher.com that I didn’t win.

3 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo Success

  1. I think you were my first nonspam follower. I’m not sure how you found me, but I’m glad you did. I’ve enjoyed your throw back Thursday posts about your mom. Ad I don’t think commenting is ever creepy.

    • I searched WordPress for blogs about “grief” and yours was one that came up. Your raw, emotional writing really rung true with me and I just felt compelled to comment.

Leave a Reply

