Chubby Kitty

My cat, Rosa, has gone from being tiny enough to pick up with one hand:

339_521063098618_9350_n

To being an average size cat:

339_521063088638_8781_n

To being absolutely ginormous (although still not the biggest cat I’ve ever had. That title belongs to Fritz, who was a whopping 22 pounds despite us trying everything under the sun to make him lose weight.):

SAMSUNG

I often refer to her as “fluffy” instead of fat, but let’s be honest. She’s fat. I’ve weighed her and she’s 15.2 pounds, which I didn’t think was that bad, but she has a belly that hangs and sways when she walks, and anyone who has seen her in person usually utters, “Wow, that’s a big cat!” when they first see her.

I’ve tried getting her to play more, I’ve switched her to the “weight control” cat food and give her the correct portion sizes (measured out) twice per day. She’s just big.

Yesterday, I opened a new bag of cat food, and as I did she sat there watching me with such intensity that I’ve never seen before. I even thought to myself at the time that it seemed like she was trying to figure out how to get into the bag without needing me to scoop out her allotted amount. I briefly considered moving the bag in case she tried knocking it over, but she’s never done anything like that before so I soon forgot about it.

Last night, after we got home from Thanksgiving dinner, we were sitting in the family room watching TV. Hubby fell asleep on the couch and I took advantage of that time to catch up on Snooki & Jwoww, which is my one and only trashy TV show vice. As I was sitting there, I heard a weird noise from the kitchen. A crinkly kind of noise. I peeked into the living room and didn’t see Rosa on the couch, so I walked around the corner into the kitchen and saw this:

20131129-183926.jpg

That little rascal had her head jammed in the bag and was chowing down! She briefly peeled herself away from her midnight snack to look at me and then right back to what she was doing with no shame whatsoever. I have to admit, I found it pretty cute and briefly considered going to wake up hubby to see her, but I opted to grab the camera from the table instead before I walked over and scolded her. I moved the bag to face the other way and blocked it with some of the clutter so that she can’t get to it nearly so easily.

Leave a Reply

