New (to me) Trader Joe’s Treats

We’ve been shopping at TJ’s for a few years now — their frozen section is great for quick and somewhat-healthy meals. Our standbys are the meatballs (hubby looooves these), the fettucine alfredo, chicken lo mein, vegetable pad thai, mac and cheese bites, mac and cheese (regular and reduced guilt), fajita veggies, and too many others to name. We stocked up on Friday night and we ended up back there on Saturday because our niece and nephew slept over and they wanted to make pizza. So, in addition to pizza dough, sauce, cheese, and pepperoni, we also picked up a few new things to try:

20131124_190105

I’m not a big breakfast person during the week. I was eating Chobani every morning, but then there was mold found in some of their yogurts and I just can’t get past it. I switched to Stonyfield Greek and it’s good, but I’m bored with yogurt in general. I can’t do cereal because the milk upsets my stomach and I refuse to eat cereal with water. I was eating whole wheat toast with peanut butter and jam, which is DELICIOUS, but it also uses up a lot of my calories for the day. I like oatmeal, so I figured I’d give TJ’s version a try. I had some yesterday morning and it’s just like the Quaker instant oatmeal: pour the packet into a bowl, add water, microwave. The difference is that this stuff has tons of fruit flavor, actual berries, and it’s filling! This is my new go-to breakfast.

20131124_190146

If you haven’t tried the peppermint Joe Joes from TJ’s, then you’re seriously missing out on life. They’re basically Oreos with peppermint cream in the middle, and they’re only around for the holidays. BUT, check out this upgraded version of these cookies: they are smothered in dark chocolate and then covered with pieces of crushed candy canes! You only get a few in the box (versus an entire box of the un-chocolately ones), but they are worth every single penny.

20131124_190130

These were an impulse buy, mostly because I knew they wouldn’t be around all year so if I wanted to try them, now is the time. They’re very similar to peppermint patties, but they too have crushed candy cane pieces on top. They’re good, but SUPER sugary and as much as I love sweets, even I could only handle one of these suckers.

20131124_190203

I have a severe weakness for macarons. I’ve tried the vanilla/chocolate combination pack from TJ’s, and they’re good, but these look so much better. I admit that I haven’t opened them yet, but I’m going to rip them open tonight after dinner and dive in. There are 12 in a box, and the flavors are: apricot, coconut, fig, salted caramel (OMG), lemon, and pistachio.

20131124_190048

Another impulse, seasonal purchase. It looked good, we wanted to try it, we bought it. We’re making it tonight, so I’ll let you know how it is. The only problem I foresee is that it is a HUGE box (serves 12!) and there are only 2 of us. I told hubby if we make it tonight, we’ll be having it for lunch and dinner tomorrow as well. He’s willing to take the chance.

20131124_190020

Thanksgiving is going to be at my brother-in-law’s house this year. We volunteered to bring mashed potatoes and were then asked if we were bringing gravy, too. Since gravy is usually made from the turkey juices, I didn’t think we were. But, we decided to bring some pre-packaged stuff as a back-up just in case (something my mother taught me because you never know if you’re going to get enough liquid from the bird and then you’re screwed and left with dry potatoes). So, we’re going to test run TJ’s version tonight and see if it’s good enough to feed the rest of the family.

2 thoughts on “New (to me) Trader Joe’s Treats

  1. I need to come up with some Trader Joe’s favorites. I go there and always leave with a random assortment of stuff but nothing I feel the need to return for. Except their green salsa. That’s a keeper.

    • Oh wow, I like pretty much everything I’ve tried from there. We’ve only have a couple of misses. I’d say 90% of what we eat comes from TJ’s. Give it another shot!

Leave a Reply

