Frankenstein: A Review

I like to read, A LOT. I’ve recently decided that I should try to incorporate some more “classical” works of literature into my reading list to help me with writing. I thought it would be good to read (or re-read as the case may be) some of the popular classics – I’ve read most of them in high school or college, but I didn’t appreciate them at the time (shocking, I know) and I feel like they deserve a second chance. I’ve downloaded a bunch for free on my iPad, and I have a handful of other sitting on the bookshelf. The first one I decided to tackle is Frankenstein, at my husband’s recommendation (he didn’t actually read the whole thing, but he thought I would probably like it).

Frankenstein (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

I admit that I skipped the introduction with all the back-story and I stopped consulting the footnotes after the first chapter because I just couldn’t be bothered, AND I may have even skimmed through some parts of the actual book because I was losing interest. That being said, I really enjoyed the story and was surprised by some of the plot twists. Frankenstein, who is NOT the monster by the way (I knew that going in, but I know a lot of people don’t realize this), had a rough time growing up – his parents took in an orphaned girl as their own daughter, his mom died, he moved around a lot. He found comfort in reading about science and was super excited for college. But, when he got to college and told one of his professors what he had been reading and learning about, this professor basically told him he was a loser for believing any of that nonsense. This turned Frankenstein’s view of the world upside-down and he ended up bitter and jaded and decided to see if he could put a bunch of people-pieces together and make a person. Naturally this is what one would do in this situation.

Surprisingly enough, he was successful and then decided that maybe it wasn’t such a good idea after all. So, instead of taking responsibility for his actions or destroying his creation, he runs away and tries to ignore it. I get it, he was overwhelmed and didn’t want to deal with it. This turns out to be another bad move. The monster wreaks havoc on Frankenstein’s life and the two of them eventually run into each other and have to deal with their issues.

There was a ton of flowery description in this book, and that tends to bore me, so those are the parts I skipped. I feel like it would have been better just sticking to the point and forgetting about the mountains or the boat or whatever Mary Shelley went on and on describing. I can usually get through a book of this size in a weekend, but it took me FOUR WEEKS to finish this one – not because it was boring, but it was definitely not an easy read.

Next on my list is Pride and Prejudice, but first I need a break and will be diving into Inferno by Dan Brown.

3 thoughts on “Frankenstein: A Review

  1. I have a hard time reading books. Not that I don’t like to, it just hurts my eyes.
    Recently I started working somewhere, where I have an hour commute. Yay audiobooks! Most of the ones I “read” are ~10-15 hours, when I play them at 1.5 speed, I can get through them in just a few days of driving to/from work.
    I’m not sure about classics, but I guess for writing, it’ll help to see the scope of books and where styles evolved from. Marry Shelly is kind of the mother of science fiction.

      • They’re great for my commute! Two hours a day, which at 1.5x speed works to 3 hours of a book a day, plus any time I get at home, or maybe lunch at work.
        A lot of the books I get are read by the author, and/or a full cast so it really brings it to life for me. (I listen to a lot of non-fiction, science type books, so the author usually gets some points across better than were I to read it from a page) Though some authors shouldn’t read for audio books… Christopher Hitchens is one of them, lol

Leave a Reply

