Change Is Good (Or So They Say…)

Wow. When I wrote the previous post, it was after a few high-anxiety days and I didn’t think much of it when I clicked the Publish button. I’ve been toying around with the idea of writing more lately, so I figured I would post it over at Blogher as well. I thought that maybe a handful of people would read it. Maybe one or two of them would find their way over here.

My entry has been read over 1400 times and has been shared over 500 times on Facebook. I realize that to the experienced bloggers these numbers are probably minuscule, but to me this is HUGE. Last Friday night I received an email from the Executive Editor at Blogher telling me how much she liked what I wrote and that she was going to feature it on the homepage. I may have actually jumped up and down and squealed while I told my husband. Aside from two not-quite-negative-but-not-quite-positive remarks from people on FB, everyone has been so nice and supportive. One person suggested that maybe I have some form of Autism (I don’t) and someone else thought I made “it” (Being introverted? My life? I’m not quite clear.) sound depressing. Normally that would be enough to make me give up and quit entirely, but instead I’ve enrolled in a creative writing course. I realize I have a lonnng way to go, but I think I can do this.

Anyone who knows me or has read more than a couple entries here can probably figure out that I do not deal well with change. At all. I like routine. I am terrified of making the “wrong” decision anytime I need to make a choice. This time is a little different, though. I’m scared of this class (What if the instructor tells me I’m a horrible writer? What if everyone else is better than me? What if I realize this isn’t what I want to do after all?), but I’m also really excited. It’s online, so I can hide behind the anonymity of the Internet and even if I do royally suck, no one will know who I am anyway! I’ve reached the point where I realize I have to take the chance and try to make a change in order to maybe, possibly, find work that will make me happy.

Leave a Reply

