Running Fool

I am not a runner. I have never been able to run without horrible ankle, shin, and knee pain. However, a lot of my friends are runners and listening to them talk about it has really made me want to give it a real try. I needed new sneakers because my Skeckers were giving me blisters and other issues during regular walks, so I went to the mall on Friday night in search of proper running shoes.

All of my runner friends seem to swear by Brooks, so after taking the handy dandy little quiz on their website and trying on several different styles and brands of running shoes, I left with a brand new pair of Brooks Adrenaline 13.

Image

I took them to the park this afternoon for a trial and had every intention of just walking. Immediately I noticed how cool and airy they were. My husband and I did one circuit (a little less than 2 miles) and I felt great! No shin pain, no ankle pain, nothing. We decided to try a little running and ended up alternating the second circuit with walking and running. Aside from some groin pain (should have stretched, oops), I felt fine. I couldn’t believe it. Turns out that sometimes it IS worth it to pay a little more for something. My hubby has been trying to get me to understand this for years, but I’m stubborn. Now I get it.

Image

This is a weird tree that grew up the side of the hill and over the trail. There were lots of other interesting trees, bridges, etc. on the path, but I didn’t want to keep stopping to pull out my phone to take pictures. As much as I dislike having to get in the car and drive to the park to walk/run, I think we’ll definitely be going back to this one because it’s fairly close and definitely a lot more entertaining than walking around the block.

Leave a Reply

