The Year of Being Sick

I don’t know what it is about this year, but the hubby and I both seem to constantly be ill. Cysts, MRSA, allergies, colds, you name it. I’ve used five sick days at work already and I still have more than three months to go!

My husband started back to work a couple of weeks ago and he just found out last week that there is strep going around one of the schools. He developed a sore throat the next day. It progressively got worse and worse, but I naively thought that there was no way I would catch whatever he had. Sure enough, I woke up Saturday morning with a sore throat. I was pissed, not only because I knew I was sick, but because it meant having to cancel plans to see my best friend’s little sisters (who are actually MY friends now, how weird is that?!). They were supposed to come over, but I was scared that we were contagious and I didn’t want to spread this to anyone else.

I didn’t realize how badly I felt until Saturday afternoon when we went outside to cut the grass. I was weak and dizzy and just felt awful. That evening I went to the store to pick up some necessities:

20120920-182504.jpg

Sunday was much of the same. We went to church and then slept most of the day. I couldn’t sleep that night, and when I woke up on Monday morning, I knew there was no way I was going to work. The two of us spent the day lying around watching tv, napping, and sucking on cough drops. My throat continued to burn worse and worse, while the hubby had progressed into a nice hacking cough and nonstop sneezing. Around 4:00 I decided I needed to go to the doctor. After consulting Facebook to find out if antibiotics are absolutely necessary for strep (yay nurse friends!) I realized I needed to give in and get them. I really wanted to avoid them since I’ve been on so many this year alone, but I couldn’t take it anymore. I convinced the hubby to come with me and off we went. It only took 3 hours (note: sarcasm) but we found out that we have regular throat infections (not strep! Yay!) that should clear up with five days of super strong nausea-inducing antibiotics:

20120920-182931.jpg

I ended up staying home on Tuesday as well since I was still running a slight fever and felt horrible. I spent most of the day snuggled on the couch with my favorite things: tea, pajamas, and my penguin blanket.

20120920-183057.jpg

Six days later and I am FINALLY starting to feel better. I can swallow without crying, my nose has stopped leaking, and I’m not sweating buckets anymore. I’m hoping that a couple more days of rest and medicine will put me back at 100%.

Leave a Reply

