As If I Needed Another Reason to Dislike Yardwork

We’ve been putting off doing something with the flower beds in the front yard ever since we moved in 9 months ago. The farthest we’ve gotten was raking some leaves out. Since we haven’t done any kind of maintenance, the two beds have become completely overrun with weeds.

20120904-204918.jpg
You’ll notice the railing is still broken. I think we’re going to have to call someone to replace the whole thing. Ugh.

20120903-144502.jpg
I hate this stupid plant. It flowered for, like, a week and then shriveled up and died and has looked like this ever since. Spiders love it, and they build webs between it and our cars. Unacceptable.

20120903-144509.jpg

20120904-205603.jpg

I decided that I wanted to rip out everything except for the bushes and fill in everything with mulch. I figured I could do that on my own, while the hubby spent the day getting ready for the new school year. My dad offered to come over and help me, and we planned to start at 9am on Saturday morning.

I woke up a little earlier and went downstairs to get started. I had most of the weeds pulled out by the time my dad got there, so he worked on digging out the rose bushes and the larger roots. We were done with the right side by 10:30am but realized we were a little short on mulch. When the hubby and I originally bought it a couple months ago, we thought three bags would be more than enough to cover both sides. Ha! Three bags barely covered half of the right side. We went over to Home Depot, bought nine more bags, and headed back to the house.

Finished product:

20120904-205402.jpg
I think the angel statue has to go, but for now it does a good job filling in space.

20120904-205905.jpg
No more ugly plant! Soon there will be grass there!

After a short break, we got started on the left side. It should be noted that before we went on vacation, we discovered a yellow jacket nest over there. My dad poured boiling water down the hole and it seemed to do the trick. When we got home on Friday afternoon, however, we noticed that they were back. This is foreshadowing.

I started ripping out flowers and weeds on the side closest to the neighbor’s house, while my dad started cutting down the rose bush. I went inside for a minute to put some sunscreen on my face and when I got back outside, I started to wonder if maybe we should have done the boiling water thing again. Just as this thought entered my mind, my dad started yelling and jumping around. He ripped his gloves off and threw them down, while some very colorful words I had never heard him say before came flying out of his mouth. He was stung, so I tried to usher him inside the house to wash it out and get it taken care of. Those little bastards were swarming all around him and about five of them followed us into the house. He ended up getting stung three times: on his finger, on his arm, and on his hip (one of them got stuck in his shirt). I got stung on the back of my thigh. It was the first time I’ve ever been stung by anything and WOW. I had no idea how much it would hurt! We both downed a couple Benadryl, put some frozen vegetables on our wounds, and killed the remaining culprits flying around in the kitchen.

He ended up going back to Home Depot to get some spray while I sat inside and got progressively more drowsy from the medication. We cleaned up outside and called it a day. I took a shower and went to bed to sleep off the medicine. I slept from about 1pm until 6:30pm. By 10:00 that night, I could barely keep my eyes open. I had called my dad around eight to see how he was doing and he was also complaining of feeling unusually tired. We talked about going to the ER but ultimately decided we were ok for now and we would see how we felt the next morning. I was in bed by 11 and slept straight through to the next morning. After church I went back to bed and slept for the entire afternoon. The pain had mostly subsided by that point, and I was just left with some annoying itching.

We went over to my dad’s for a Labor Day BBQ and we were both a mess. He was so tired that he said he was nodding off while sitting down watching tv, plus he was complaining of aches and pains all over. The hubby consulted Dr. Google and we determined that we weren’t having an allergic reaction, we would take more medicine and regroup in the morning. I talked to him a little while ago and we both feel SO much better. I’m still itchy, but not nearly as bad, and my fatigue has reduced to my normal level. He isn’t as achy and isn’t tired at all anymore.

The spray doesn’t seem to have slowed down the little buggers at all, so our plan tonight is to flood them out with the hose. I read some other suggestions online involving gasoline and homemade flamethrowers, but the nest is a little too close to the house for us to start playing with fire.

Leave a Reply

