Cake on a Stick!

I’ve been wanting to try making cake pops for awhile now, and after looking at Bakerella’s site the other night I knew I had to give it a shot. Her adorable sheep pops are what really pushed me over the edge, but I figured I would start small and just try making some plain ones. If I could handle that, then I’ll work my way up to cute farm animals.

I went to AC Moore yesterday in search of candy wafers, lollipop sticks, a block of styrofoam, and sprinkles. I haven’t been in that place in forever, so I was super impressed by the TWO aisles of cake making supplies they have now. There were SO SO many things I wanted to buy, but I stopped myself since the few things I actually needed ended up costing me $42.00. I splurged and bought this one jar of pink pearl sprinkles that was like $4.99, but they were too pretty not to own. I also grabbed a cake pan while I was there since the only one I had was a small square one.

Then I went to Target to buy a new mixer – I really want a KitchenAid stand mixer, but since they’re like $300.00, I opted for a regular old hand one instead. I also got two boxes of Funfetti cake and icing, more sprinkles, and a ton of non-cake pop related stuff that we needed.


Apparently I need to practice holding the camera steady so I don’t get such blurry shots.

After unpacking everything at home, I got to work making the cake and setting up my supplies. Once the cake was done and cooled, I ripped it up into chunks and threw it in a large bowl along with about 3/4 of the container of icing. Edwin helped me mush it all together and then we rolled out little balls of cakey goodness, put them on a cookie sheet, and threw them in the fridge to cool for a few minutes.


I was seriously tempted to just grab the giant spoon and shovel this into my face.

Once they seemed a little stronger, we pulled them out and set to work putting the sticks in there. I microwaved some of the white wafers and we dipped the sticks in the melted candy and then pushed them into each cake ball. After we put the sticks in, we put the whole tray back in the fridge so that candy would harden. Looking back, we realized we should have (1) used the entire can of icing, (2) left the cake balls in the fridge for longer, (3) poked a hole in each ball first, then filled it with melted candy then put the stick in. If we had done all that, I don’t think they would have crumbled/fallen off the stick/broke apart into a million pieces.

I microwaved each of the wafers in a separate bowl, at 30 second intervals, stirring between each round. We took the pops out of the fridge and began dipping them in the melted candy, coating them in that and them rolling them in sprinkles. This took WAY longer than I expected, because (1) we had to put them back in the fridge because they weren’t solid enough, (2) it takes forever to get the excess melted candy off the pop, (3) the melted candy starts to solidify after awhile.

They’re not necessarily the prettiest or the most professional looking, but overall I think they came out really cute. Now I know what NOT to do next time, so I think they’ll be even better when I attempt this again. I want to try it with chocolate cake and peanut butter wafers. Nomnomnom.


A little forest of deliciousness.

2 thoughts on “Cake on a Stick!

Leave a Reply

