A Season of Change

Today is Ash Wednesday, which begins the season of Lent. I was trying to think of what to give up and I came up with a list:

Alcohol
Cookies
Cake
Candy
Fried food
Etc.

I figured I might as well sign back up for Weight Watchers. Although they promote the whole “you can eat whatever you want” thing, that’s not entirely true. Even the smallest portions of the above items are a buttload of points, so it’s easier to just eliminate them completely. I signed up at lunch for 3 months and am really excited about it. I WANT to do this. Not only do I need to get healthy, but I need to stop putting so much importance on food (gluttony) and I need to get active (sloth).

I weighed in this morning at 157 even and my goal is 128. Although I’ve been much less than that, that’s how much I weighed on my wedding day and that is when I felt the most comfortable with my body. I don’t know how long it will take me, but I’m determined to make this happen.

My hubby and I are having a church wedding on (hopefully) March 17th. It’s something we always planned on doing, but we have to do it now in order for him to be confirmed. I’m torn about it. I want to do it, but I hate the idea of not having my mom or Christina there. We had to pick witnesses (essentially a best man and maid of honor) and it was so upsetting because I should have been able to pick Christina. We decided to keep the whole thing very simple and immediate family only. In order not to offend anyone, we asked our two sister-in-laws to be our witnesses. They agreed and both said they’re honored, so I’m happy about that. I just wish it didn’t have to be this way. I’m sure I’m going to cry and it’s going to be emotional, but I know it’s only the first of many events I’ll have to deal with without my mom and BFF by my side. I chose the 17th because it’s St. Patrick’s Day – my mom loved that day so much, so I figured if she can’t be there, at least her spirit will be with me.

One thought on “A Season of Change

  1. I think you’ll do great with WW, and hope you get the results you’re hoping for.

    I have the same issues with having our “real” wedding now. We did a JoP (Justice of the peace) before, and figured we could do our dream wedding down the road when close to family again. We just didn’t want to plan a wedding while away from the east coast. Now I hate myself because we put it off and loved ones are gone (Christina, Adam’s dad, and my grandfather). They were all around when we did our JoP “ceremony”, but figured there was always time. Mom and Kati were the only loved ones there.

    At least you know that your mother, and Christina were able to be apart of your first wedding. That was the wedding that made your marriage real. They got to share that moment with you, and will be there in spirit at your church wedding. Have you thought of at least having pictures of them or something to represent them being there? I don’t know how you feel about that, but it’s an idea.

    ❤ Here for you, good luck during Lent.

Leave a Reply

