I can do this.

Despite eating horribly this past week: no green smoothies, no vegetables at all that I can recollect, chips, fries, fried chicken, rice, soda, fettuccine alfredo, too many of these…

20120211-132918.jpg

…and too much of this…

20120211-133009.jpg

… I still somehow managed to lose 1.1 pounds.

20120211-133039.jpg

I’ve tried to do 20 minutes on the elliptical everyday, but I’d be lying if I said I was successful at that. I did get up and do it this morning and then did 10 minutes of WiiFit hula hooping, which I haven’t done in well over a year.

I’ve been thinking about the past two times I was successful at losing weight and what I did then that helped me. Back in 2005, I got up to 144 pounds (I know, the horror) and thought I was huge. My dad also wanted to lose a few pounds, so we both started doing Weight Watchers (I knew someone who used to do the program, so she gave me all of her booklets and info) and we would work out everyday. We would walk on the treadmill and do those 8 Minute abs/arms/legs videos. I lost over 20 pounds in 3 months and kept it off for 2 years. I had gained a little back that I wanted to lose before my wedding in 2007, so my husband (fiancé at the time) and I started walking 2.5 miles everyday, and I got down to 128 in time for the wedding. That is when I felt the most comfortable in my body, and that is my goal weight.

Two years ago, right before the summer of 2010, I was up to 166 pounds. I started doing WW again, got on the elliptical everyday using the “weight loss” preset, and weighed myself everyday on the WiiFit after doing some of the yoga, hula hooping, and stepping. I lost about 16 pounds in a couple of months.

I have the tools to do this. I have an elliptical in my basement, I have a WiiFit in my living room, I have a blender to make green smoothies, and I know how WW works. I know what I should and shouldn’t be eating. I know what proper portion sizes are. I’ve done it before and I’m going to do it again. I’m happy with my additional 1.1 pound loss (that’s 2 pounds total since I started) but I know it could have been so much more if I would just discipline myself. Imagine if I had eaten more veggies and less junk this week. I think I’m finally motivated enough to do this correctly and succeed.

One thought on “I can do this.

  1. Thanks! Now I’m craving some thin mints…

    I really need to loose a few pounds too. I’ve heard good things about the P90X workouts. I have a friend who does them every night, and loves to hate it. I’ve also heard good things about the “Biggest Loser” game for XBox. It’s on my gamefly queue…

    I’ve become so lazy since moving to the frozen north, an have put on like 60 pounds in the 3.5 years I’ve been here. It’s depressing to be surrounded by nothing but trees, and of course other events since moving here.

    What motivates you to eat better? That’s one of my biggest sore spots. I pretty much grew up on fast food, and it’s just what I’ve always eaten. It’s hard to change that, and I’ve brought Killeen into my bad habits.

Leave a Reply

