On the right track

I haven’t weighed in this week yet (tomorrow), but I’ve been trying to make some changes that will hopefully get me back in shape: I’ve had probably 4 or 5 green smoothies this week, I’ve been trying to have a veggie with dinner and/or lunch everyday, and today I got on the elliptical for the first time since last August.

I did 7 minutes this afternoon – random, I know, but the oven timer went off – and I just did another 14. I wanted to stop much sooner because my legs felt like they were on fire, but I kept going until I couldn’t take anymore.

image

That combined with the shoveling I did this morning gave me a decent workout for a beginner.

image

I just have to keep at it and I should start seeing results as long as I cut back on the cookies and pizza. And the wine.

image

I got this chianti from Trader Joe’s for $4.99, and to be honest, I wasn’t expecting it to be very good. But it was! So good that I may or may not have finished the entire bottle. No hangover today either!

One thought on “On the right track

  1. It’s always hard to cut back on the bad stuff (wine and yummy good), but with every bad habit you get rid of the healthier your lifestyle will eventually be. The best method for me to stick to eating healthier was to take it a day at a time. I started off slowly getting rid of all soda from my diet. I only allowed myself 1 can until there was no more of the left over 12 pack. I would substitute other drinks with water to increase water intake again. Once I stopped breastfeeding I started the bad habit of soda, bleh. Adding more water alone to your diet is a very healthy start and will help with muscle aches 🙂

    Then every day slowly increase good fats (such as olive oil), complex carbohydrates, omega-3 fatty acids, fruits and vegetables. It will not only help you lose weight but improve your immune systems functions, and reduce inflammation. You’ll become more heart healthy, help your hormone production (great for when you try to get pregnant, if you do!) and helps cellular production. It’s crazy how much simply changing out certain bad diet items will change your health.

    Also, don’t forget getting plenty of sleep. Lack of sleep can contribute to weight gain.

    Lol, I don’t know why I just typed all that. Perhaps it will help? Haha, sorry for rambling, especially if you know all this!

    As for exercise.. ugh, it sucks but any amount of exercise is better than no exercise… at least that’s how I see it …hah!

Leave a Reply

