Thirteen years ago

Thirteen years ago today, I went to look at limos for prom with one of my closest friends and the boy I had a crush on. Two days earlier, this boy had told me that he liked me. Because I was so incredibly shy and had zero self-esteem, I didn’t say anything when he told me. I said ok, laughed, and got out of the car to go inside and call all my friends.

A day after that, we went out with a whole group of people and that night I told him on the phone that I liked him too.

After looking at limos, we dropped off my friend and that boy drove me home. When we got to my house, he asked if he could go home knowing he has a girlfriend. I said yes and went inside, floating about eight feet off the ground.

Thirteen years later, and that boy is my husband.

image

This is the first gift he ever got me. It was a present for my seventeenth birthday, before we started dating. I was already head over heels in love with him at that point, and now I know he felt the same way about me. This figurine, while broken, still sits on our coffee table. Every time I look at it, I feel seventeen again and remember how blessed I am to have married my high school sweetheart.

One thought on “Thirteen years ago

Leave a Reply

