Two Quick Book Reviews

I read constantly. I could read multiple books per day if I didn’t have to go to work. When I was little, my mom would take me to the bookstore and I would pick out around 5 books (mostly all Christopher Pike, remember those?!) and I would plow through them in a weekend. It was great.

Anyway. The two most recent books I’ve read that warrant reviews are The Help and The Hunger Games. Let’s start with the good review first.

I started reading The Help because I had seen it on the bestseller lists for awhile and then I saw the trailer for the movie. I knew I would want to read the book before seeing the movie, so I ordered it from Amazon along with a few other books. What a great story! I highly, highly recommend this book. It’s funny and moving and makes you think, and best of all, it makes you not want to finish it so that you don’t have to leave the characters behind. I actually took my time reading this one because I didn’t want it to end. I absolutely fell in love with Aibileen and Miss Skeeter. I can’t wait to see this one on the big screen, but I am a bit nervous because I always have complaints about books made into movies. Hopefully they did the book justice and didn’t change too much.

And now the bad.

This one is my own fault. I saw the book so highly reviewed on a young adult fiction site thatand love (Forever Young Adult) and it was only like $4 on Amazon, so I bought it. I was sooo looking forward to this book. My husband read it before me and he just raved about it, so maybe my expectations were too high? But it’s not that I didn’t like the book, I just found it… disturbing. The whole premise is that it’s a bazillion years in the future and a bunch of kids are sent off to these “games” every year, to kill each other. The winner is the last one alive. I don’t know why this bothers me so much. I realize it’s fiction. It’s not even the violence, it’s just the whole concept of people making a bunch of 12-17 year olds fight each other to the death for the sake of entertainment. I realize this is no different than the Colosseum in ancient Rome, but still. I don’t think I’ll be reading the next books in the series. Also, I was reading reviews today just to see if I am the only overly sensitive person out there (I’m not) and discovered that the author ripped the story from some Japanese novel. That makes me like it even less.

Leave a Reply

