One Year Ago

One year ago today, my mom was admitted to the hospital to determine once and for all what was making her so ill. She had an appointment at the doctor and I remember her telling me the day before that she was bringing an overnight bag with her because she was pretty sure she would be admitted. I knew at the time that it wasn’t going to end well — at the time they suspected ovarian cancer. I went to see her after work and she was in a surprisingly good mood, considering everything. I didn’t stay long; she told me to go home and relax and she would be ok.

Funny that I ended up leaving work early today to go to the doctor. My throat started to bother me last night, so much so that I woke up twice. It got progressively worse throughout the day today, and since three if my coworkers have had throat infections over the past week, I figured I should go get checked out before it got worse. Turns out I have a sinus infection and was sent home with several prescriptions and over-the-counter recommendations, as well as an order to get some bloodwork done when I’m feeling a bit better.

I got my medicine and freaked out when I saw that the antibiotic prescribed is sulfa based. As far as I know, I’m inky allergic to penicillin, but I know my mom was allergic to sulfa. In fact, the medicine they gave me (bactrim), is the same one they wanted to give her in the ICU to treat the lung infection she had. She couldn’t take it, obviously, and there was no other known cure for her infection since it was so antibiotic-resistant. I called my dad in a panic to find out what her reaction was to it and what I should do. He told me that she had it when she was young and not since then, and he told me to ask the pharmacist. I went back in and asked, and the poor guy had to try not to laugh at me. Apparently, medicinal allergies aren’t generally hereditary and he said I would be fine. I took the first dose almost two hours ago and seem to be doing fine with it. My entire body aches, my throat is on fire, and I can’t breathe out of my nose, but at least I’m still breathing and haven’t broken out into hives or anything.

Leave a Reply

