New toy!

I’ve been debating for months about buying an iPad. The biggest thing stopping me was the cost — I had serious anxiety about spending a few hundred dollars on a gadget that I didn’t need. I mean, couldn’t that money go towards something more useful? A more noble cause? I felt guilty for even considering it.

So, I started looking into less expensive alternatives and ended up seriously considering a Nook Color. It gets great reviews, and it seems to be THE iPad alternative. It has wifi, a web browser, email and apps! I had almost convinced myself I would be happy with it, but I knew deep down that I WANTED the iPad. I love my iPod touch, but the screen is so small and it gives me a headache. Essentially, I wanted a larger iPod touch which is exactly what the iPad is.

On Saturday, I told my husband we should go shopping and he immediately knew what I had in mind. We tried Best Buy, but they only had the 3G versions in stock, and all I wanted was a wifi one. We ended up going to the Apple store (which I don’t care for at all, by the way — too hectic and pretentious) and I was scared they wouldn’t have it either, but they did! I love it so far. I can watch Netflix movies while my husband watches the NBA finals, I can check my email, and I can easily blog from my couch! It’s perfect and I am so glad I got it.

So what made me take the leap and stop worrying about the money? The simple fact that I’ve come to terms with the idea that anything can happen to anyone at any time. Bad things do indeed happen to good people. I don’t want to put things off anymore because what if I never get the chance to do them? We can’t take any of this stuff or our money with us when we die. Sure, an iPad is completely unnecessary and materialistic and all those other bad things. But I wanted it and I had the money and I don’t think I went overboard. Of course, now I do have this little voice in my head telling me I need to donate some money to a worthy charity, but whatever.

I want to enjoy my life. I don’t want to have regrets. This silly little gadget is making me happy at the moment, so that’s all that matters.

Have you ever splurged on something that you knew you didn’t really need, but you REALLY wanted?

Leave a Reply

