Cravings

I weighed in yesterday and am up a pound. I couldn’t figure this out since I really upped my workouts last week, and I was seriously frustrated this morning when I could barely button my pants. About halfway through the morning, I was visited by my monthly little friend and suddenly understood why I was bloated, cranky, and completely broken out.

Today was my first official day back on WW and tracking my points. Although I went over, I don’t think I ate anything overly horrible: grapes, a Fiber One 90-calorie bar, half a chicken Caesar salad (Panera), a cup of broccoli cheddar soup with bread (Panera), pineapple Chobani, a bowl of Kashi blueberry clusters cereal, and a Skinny Cow strawberry shortcake ice cream sandwich. I drank lots of water (and some tea), had a Diet Coke with dinner (well, cereal… I was in a breakfast mood), and did 20 minutes on the elliptical.

About 45 minutes ago I started getting this really strong craving for bread. I drank a bunch of water and tried to distract myself. I couldn’t get this buttered roll out of my mind. I consulted Google to see if maybe my body was missing some nutrient, but everything I read pointed to a good old fashioned craving. I gave in. I took one of my husband’s hoagie rolls, slathered on some butter, and enjoyed every single bite. The problem now is that I want another one (or three). I’m resisting because I’m full and would be eating just for the sake of eating.

I’m not good with food substitutes. I have a bag of Thomas’ Bagel Thins in the kitchen and could have had one of those for about 2 Points Plus, but I wanted the roll. When I want something specific, nothing else will do. I knew that if I had one of the bagels, I’d end up eating the roll later.

How do you deal with cravings? Do you give in and allow yourself to have what you want? Or do you have some tricks for making yourself forget about them?

2 thoughts on “Cravings

  1. >Well, my accident has made it easy for me to fight cravings. It's one of the very few positives of being paralyzed; you can't go grab a snack, or mindlessly shove handfuls of chips, or cookies into your mouth, while you watch tv. Every time I want something to eat I have to ask for it. That alone is often a deterrent. Plus, almost everything I CAN do involves needing my mouthstick, or a paintbrush in my mouth. I can't snack while I paint, play on the computer, or read. I try my best to fill up on fruits and veggies, and eat small portions (especially since I can't exercise).When I was on my feet, I was most success with dieting when I lived on my own and was controlling the food that was bought, and readily available. My mom and dad always had a ton of junk food in their house, and it made avoiding the temptation much, much harder. When I lived with Joey & on my own, I tried not to buy junk. Other than that, distractions were helpful, and just berating myself >.< LOL! I'd just keep reminding myself how fat I was, and how unhappy I was with my body, and tried to remind myself of the extra work I'd have to do if cheated. Once I got into a groove, and started seeing results I did pretty good. The holidays and birthdays were always the biggest obstacle. 

  2. >If my husband is here, I make sure he doesn't let me give into my cravings. When I'm home alone though, its a battle. I try not to keep the foods I crave in the house, and because they aren't easy to get (I don't drive), I would have to walk or bike to get them. So I guess that kind of eliminates the cravings altogether. LOL

Leave a Reply

