Weekly Weigh-In and TWO Non-Scale Victories

>I’m still hovering between 148 and 150, which is fine considering I’ve all but given up on WW recently. I still haven’t tracked in weeks, and aside from eating the broccoli that came with my General Tso’s Shrimp, my eating habits have been atrocious. I discovered Ben & Jerry’s Red Velvet Cake and nearly blew through the entire pint in one sitting. I’ve been to Famous Dave’s, the diner, Panera, and our favorite pizza place more times than I can count, and I’ve gotten completely black-out drunk the past two Friday nights. On the up side, I’ve been keeping up with walking about 3-4 times a week after work with my dad, and I even did 45 minutes on the elliptical last week.

I know I need to get back on track. I need motivation. I’ve decided that I am going to do two things:

1) When I reach 140 pounds, I am chopping all of my hair off and donating it. This is something I’ve wanted to do for years, and especially lately after watching the chemo steal all of my mom’s hair. I have more than enough to spare and then I also get a cute new haircut out of it.

2) I am going to run my very own 5k. A few months ago, my friend Michelle at Sun, Sand & Change ran her own private half marathon just to prove to herself that she could do it. This seemed like a GENIUS idea to me and I’ve wanted to do the same thing ever since, but considering I actually and not exaggeratingly cannot run even a tenth of a mile, I didn’t want to get in over my head. I can already walk a 5k with no problem, so my goal is to run on on June 20th.

Now then. On to the Non-Scale Victories…

NSV #1
I saw one of my girlfriends this past weekend for the first time in about 5 months. Her reaction upon seeing me was, “You look amazing. Like seriously amazing.” She has no idea I’ve been trying to lose weight.

NSV #2
Yesterday my husband looked at me in awe and told me how skinny I was getting.

3 thoughts on “Weekly Weigh-In and TWO Non-Scale Victories

  1. >I am very excited about the 5K! Just remind me closer to the day. Will that be the official date? I'm going to do a post on this coming week!

  2. >The marathon sounds awesome! Have you considered doing runs for charity? Isn't there a big breast cancer marathon every year, in NYC? They always say losing inches is more important than losing weight.Alcohol (and most beverages in general) eat up a ton of wasted calories. You could easily drop a few extra pounds if you gave up drinking sugary drinks, and only drank water (or diet soda, or crystal light). It's still so weird for me, to hear about you drinking, and getting drunk. Before my accident, it was like pulling teeth to get you to have a drink with me. I can't imagine you "black out" drunk. I'll admit, it makes me a bit worried.

Leave a Reply

