Thankful Thursday

>This week I am thankful for music. It’s one of those things that is so powerful and able to change my mood, no matter what. I wasn’t able to listen to any music at all for about a month after my mom passed. I was partly trying to avoid Christmas songs because they were just too much for me to handle at the time, but even regular music was too… wrong. It was either too happy or too sad or too nostalgic. I drove around in silence for weeks, just me and my thoughts and tears.

Now I’ve found an escape in music. Angry songs make me feel better when I’m having an especially difficult day (misery loves company?), and upbeat dance songs lift my mood if I’m kind of in between.

We listen to Pandora at work and the station is always changing depending on who sets it up. This afternoon must have been a 90s station because there were some really great songs on, one of which was Sex and Candy by Marcy Playground. Instantly, I was 17 again and riding shotgun in one of my best girlfriend’s car while we drove around aimlessly on a Friday night — nowhere to go and nothing to do but blast the music and look for cute boys. That was back when gas was only 99 cents per gallon and we could afford to drive all over the state for hours (and who am I kidding, we weren’t the ones paying for the gas anyway). How I wish I could go back in time and tell my 17 year old self to treasure those nights because life only got more complicated and difficult after that.

Right now I’m on the elliptical (you know you’re jealous of my multitasking skills) and it’s music that is getting me through this workout. Here’s a peek into what’s on my playlist:

Coming Home by P. Diddy (I’ve had such a crush on him since high school)
Why Wait by Rascal Flatts (yes, I like country music and no, I’m not ashamed)
Rolling in the Deep by Adele
I’m a Believer by The Monkees
Dreams by Fleetwood Mac
Baby by Justin Bieber (shut up. You know you like this song.)
I Like It by Enrique Iglesias
I Can Only Imagine by MercyMe (yes, I like Christian music, too)
Going Through Changes by Eminem

2 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday

  1. >I still can't hear the Macarena,or Seal's "Kiss By A Rose" without getting upset, and Shavon has been gone 14 years now. I know what you mean though, music brings me back. For a long time, I couldn't stand hearing club music, as much as I love it. It was too painful, knowing I could no longer dance. My music tastes have changed a lot, since my accident. I really miss those days, of blasting my system, and feeling the wind through my hair, as I drove back, and forth to PA. I used to get lost in the music, and it always made the two hours seem like nothing. I miss speeding down the Parkway, at like two in the morning, with no one else on the rode, listening to Trance. Music definitely helped me, get motivated to work out. Club music was always my favorite. It lifted my spirits, and made me want to move to the beat.

  2. >Music has a huge impact on me as well. I have a few playlists of music that remind me of old days. I play them when I'm sad and they cheer me up really quick.Also, your playlist is all over the place lol. I love Adele and Rascal Flatts though. I especially like Rascal Flatt's song "what hurts the most" but it makes me bawl like a baby. They're pretty much the only country I like though.

Leave a Reply

