Happy (?) Mother’s Day

>

This is my first Mother’s Day without my mom and it has been anything but happy. Facebook is full of cheerful messages, Father Gillen’s homily at Mass today was all about mothers (both living and deceased), and it’s very hard to be the odd one out — the only one amongst my friends without a mother to visit today. 
I looked at her picture for the first time in a long time today, and I told her how much I love and miss her. I took her for granted when she was alive and didn’t appreciate all that she did for me. Looking back, now I realize how much she sacrificed and did for me. I wouldn’t be the woman I am today if it wasn’t for her. Thank you, mommy. I love you always.
If roses grow in Heaven, Lord,
please pick a bunch for me,
Place them in my Mother’s arms
and tell her they’re from me.

Tell her, I love her and I miss her,
and when she turns to smile,
place a kiss upon her cheek
and hold her for awhile.

Remembering her is easy,
I do it every day,
but there’s an ache within my heart
that will never go away.

One thought on “Happy (?) Mother’s Day

  1. >Been thinking about you all day. I can't say I know exactly what you're going through, since I still have my mom, but I do know the pain, of feeling like everyone around me, but me is smiling. I know how much it hurts, to be the "odd one out," on many, many things. It sucks, and it's unfair. I hope there is a heaven, and we'll all be reunited someday. If there is, your mom is surely watching, and knows how much you love her. I miss her too, and pray to her, all the time. I know she prayed a lot, for me, when she was alive. Your mom always remembered me, and made me feel special. I hope, somehow, she can lend you some of her strength. I know I would, if I could. I wish I knew the words, to make you feel better, but I know all you want is to have here. I wish I had answers for both of us. Life is very unfair.Just know, I'm thinking about you, and love you.

Leave a Reply

