Bathroom Etiquette

>Can we please discuss public bathroom etiquette? I have four major pet peeves about public restrooms:

1) Please flush the toilet when you’re done.

I cannot tell you how many times I walk into the bathroom at work to find a bowl full of pee, poop, or vomit. I don’t understand this at all. I would be mortified to leave my business there for the next person to see. Do people forget? How could you forget to flush the toilet? Do they not want to touch the handle? Use some toilet paper! Use your foot! Just, please, flush.

2) Ladies. Sit down to pee. I beg you. You are not talented enough to hover and get everything in the bowl where it belongs. You end up getting pee all over the seat, the floor, and probably yourself. Weren’t you taught to put down toilet paper down on the seat? Most bathrooms also offer seat covers! There is no excuse for you not to sit down. I do not want to have to clean your pee off the seat before I can go.

3) If the toilet paper runs out, replace the roll.

I work in an office building and we share a bathroom with about 5 other offices on our floor. There are 2 stalls in the bathroom and there are always at least 3 fresh rolls of paper on the tank in each stall. The toilet paper roll is just like one at home — it’s not like those ones you need a key to open or anything. NO ONE ever changes the roll. Instead, they open a new one and just place it on top. Really? You can’t take the extra 15 seconds to put it on properly?

4) If someone is in the stall when you come into the bathroom, and they are being especially quiet, they’re probably going number two and need you to leave ASAP. Do not dawdle and redo your makeup and hair. Do not pull out your cell phone and make calls. Leave. As someone with unpredictable IBS who is prone to flareups at anytime, I cannot stress how important this one is.

Now, the thing is, every woman I’ve discussed this stuff with agrees wholeheartedly. So who’s actually doing all this stuff?? Someone out there is a big fat liar.

2 thoughts on “Bathroom Etiquette

  1. >LOL! I used to wonder the same exact things! Who are these nasty women?! The worst is when you find a toilet with a bloody maxi pad, or tampon, floating around, unflushed. Seriously?! Do their mothers never teach them bathroom etiquette? It says it right on the packages, NOT to flush them. Plus, what do they think the little garbage bins, in the stalls are for? So nasty!

  2. >Lol I don't know how many times I've had to hold it because I refuse to clean someone else's pee off the seat! I will flush someones mess but even then I'm extremely grossed out and wont go. Also, usually if something is left in there it will make the bathroom smell. I can't handle the idea of germs and will just leave and wait till I get home. Obviously this was impossible when pregnant. I don't know how many times I would "bitch out" managers at restaurants and stores when their bathrooms were a mess.I know they may not be the ones making the mess, but they have people who are supposed to clean them up. How can a bathroom remain dirty like that when I see employees come and go while I'm shopping/eating!? It drives me crazy!!My biggest pet peeve ever though: Not washing your hands! How can you use the bathroom and not wash your hands?! That's how people get staph infections. *barf*

Leave a Reply

