New Food Adventures

>I need a break from thinking about anything too serious today, so how about a post full of food reviews? My friend, Cyndi, over at RunRollRepeat inspired me when she posted pictures and descriptions of what she keeps stocked in her kitchen, and when she posted about some new things she tried this week. I realized that I had also tried several new food items (and one non-food item) and figured I would do a similar post.

First up is Healthy Choice Garlic Herb Shrimp

I like shrimp. I like garlic. I like pasta. This sounded perfect to me. It looks GREAT on the package. I heated it up at work one day last week and was incredibly disappointed. The pasta was gritty, the shrimp were teeny tiny, and the garlic sauce? Almost non-existent. The only saving grace was the asparagus, but really, how can you screw that up? I have another one of these in my freezer (I bought two because they looked so yummy) and I think I’ll heat it up just to take a picture of how pathetic it actually is.
Next is Pomegranate Izze – fortified sparkling juice
WOW. This stuff kind of rocks. I bought a 4-pack of the Pomegranate one at Target and it was gone in a couple of days. I would have finished it all on day one but I was trying to control myself. It’s only 90 calories per 8 ounce can and it’s pretty much just juice and sparkling water. Yes, there’s quite a bit of sugar in it, but I think that’s OK compared to all the Diet Coke I drink. I will definitely be buying this again!
I needed a granola bar-type snack to keep in my desk at work. I chose Kashi Dark Chocolate and Coconut bars:
These are not quite as good as they sound and look on the package. The chocolate tastes a little… off. I’m not sure what it is exactly. They’re not BAD, but they’re not nearly as yummy as I expected them to be. The coconut isn’t sweet enough, so I can’t really taste it. They do the trick of keeping me full in the afternoon, but I don’t know that I’ll be buying them again.

Cyndi recommended Tazo Awake tea. She is probably the coolest truck driver I know, and since she drives at all hours of the day and night, I trust her when she says something does the job of keeping her awake and alert. I figured I’d give it a try in the mornings to give me a little extra oomph to get going. It works! It’s also super yummy. The first day, I had it plain, but then I tried it with a bit of lemon and honey and it was fab. Also please note my wonderful Teavana Perfect Tea Maker. I know this is supposed to be used with loose leaf tea, but I just rip open the packets and dump the tea right in there. I can’t tell you what a difference it makes. Seriously. If you like tea, you must get one. I didn’t think it would do anything, but it really makes the tea taste so much smoother than normal. I use it for everything: plain old tea, herbal, green, whatever. It ALL tastes better coming out of this thing.

And, finally, I needed something new to try and calm down my acne. I have horrible skin. I’ve tried everything you can think of short of Accutane, which is what my doctor says is my last chance. I refuse to put it in my body since I’m already predisposed to depression and I don’t really need anything enhancing those emotions. SO. I saw Burt’s Bees Natural Acne Solutions 3-Step Regimen Kit and I had to buy it.

It comes with a cleanser, lotion, and spot treatment. It seems like the main ingredient is salicylic acid, but there’s also tea tree oil and other fun natural stuff. I’ve been using it for about a week now, although I’m a slacker and don’t use it twice a day every day, and my skin is definitely softer if nothing else. It also tames the redness, which is half of my problem. I’m happy with it overall and will definitely keep using it until my skin gets used to it and I need to switch to something else.

Leave a Reply

