Update

>It’s been awhile. A lot has been going on and I haven’t really wanted to write about it, but I’m thinking now that putting it out there might help me deal with it better.

1) I found a lump in my boob. It turned out to just be a cyst, and it was drained, but it was pretty scary at first when I didn’t know what it was.

2) My grandpa died about a month ago. We weren’t overly close, and it wasn’t unexpected, but it still sucks. I feel like I could have been a better granddaughter and gone to visit him more, but he stopped recognizing me years ago and it was just uncomfortable.

My mom and I have to go meet with an attorney next week to settle his estate. He left me money for college (I graduated 6 years ago, lol) that I should be able to use to pay off the rest of my student loans and maybe replace my car (have to talk to the hubby about that one, but it’s probably time).

3) My mom was diagnosed with stage III lung cancer at the end of June. She just started round two of chemo today and she finishes radiation soon. It’s been taking quite a toll on her body — she’s down to about 85 pounds and she’s very sick and tired. I don’t really know what the prognosis is, mostly because she and my dad haven’t said anything and I can’t bring myself to ask. The Internet tells me most people live about 13 months. I can’t deal with that or wrap my brain around it. Supposedly her doctors are optimistic, so I am trying to stay positive and just keep praying that she makes it through this.

4) My in-laws had a serious accident a couple of weeks ago and my MIL has been in the ICU ever since. She is slowly making progress and is finally officially off of the ventilator and breathing on her own again. Apparently she stood up today, which she was not supposed to do since she hasn’t been out of bed in, like, 18 days. She is still fighting some super-duper antibiotic-resistant infection, but things are starting to look up for her.

One thought on “Update

  1. >Wow Erin.. not really sure what to say. Glad the lump wasn't anything real serious and was taken care of. Sorry about your grandfather.. :(It must be hard with your mother having lung cancer. My FIL also has cancer (lung and prostate) and has managed to live 17 months from being diagnosed with no treatment. I know every person is different but I'll pray she can have more time with you and your family. I'll keep her in my thoughts and pray your mom can get through her treatment with strength to enjoy the time she has left. I'm sure this must be really difficult for you and your family. Very sorry your family has to go through this.I hope your MIL pulls through and will able to go home soon. Not sure what her injuries are but still hope she has a fast recovery.*hugs*

Leave a Reply

