Sleep vs. Sweat

>As we all know, sleeping is my most favorite hobby. I look forward to napping on weekends. There is almost nothing that beats falling asleep on the couch with a good book and just relaxing for a few hours.

Today, I wanted nothing more than to crawl into my comfy bed and snuggle with my pillow when we got home from my parents’ house. We had the kids on Friday night, so we were up late and ready to go early the next morning because C had to be at ballet at 10am. We went out to dinner with the family on Saturday night and ended up going to a park afterward so that my SIL could practice taking night shots with her new camera and flash. We were up late again, AND we had to get up at ass-thirty this morning to go to Mr. H’s parents’ house for breakfast because his mom left today for Peru. Then we went to church, and then to MY parents’ house for laundry and Father’s Day festivities. I was exhausted when we got home at 7:30pm, not to mention I can barely walk or make any sudden movements thanks to Mr. H’s brilliant suggestion to buy a cardio workout DVD yesterday.

We ended up with Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred DVD, which was only $9 at Target and seemed perfect. Yeah, well, her goal in this video is to KILL ME with lunges and squats and other crazy torture routines. She periodically reminds me that I cannot rest for more than 5 seconds if I want results. I want results! I also want to NOT DIE, and this appears to be a bit of a conflict of interest for me.

Anyway. I planned to come home and sort of just fall into bed and cuddle with the hubby. But then I remembered that I also want to be thin again and napping was not going to help me accomplish that. So I pulled on a sports bra, put in the DVD and gave it my all. Mr. H is a glutton for punishment and he was all “Let’s try LEVEL TWO!” and I was all “Dude. I cannot stand up from the toilet without GRABBING ONTO THE TOWEL RACK and using every ounce of my energy to PULL MYSELF UP because I am pretty sure that my legs are broken or at least seriously compromised.” I gave in and we did Level Two, which I am clearly not coordinated enough for. She wants me to PUNCH and KICK at the same time. Jillian. I cannot walk in sneakers without tripping and hurting myself. This is far too complicated for me. I did jumping jacks instead.

The moral of the story is that I made a conscious decision to work out and SWEAT and get gross and be in pain over fluffy blankets and sleepytime. I think I am beginning to make some progress.

One thought on “Sleep vs. Sweat

  1. >Oh my gosh, I am laughing so hard. I did Billy Blanks Bootcamp a few times, with the enclosed Billy Bands (resistance), and could not move my arms for days. I couldn't even get my bra on without help. Your mini review of Jillian's DVD has me scared, but also curious. I really need a workout video for rainy days. Based on your review, I'm guessing I need to endure the torture and share your pain. Hopefully I can find it this weekend!

Leave a Reply

