Reunion

>This past Friday was my 10 year high school reunion. I can remember sitting in church during graduation practice 10 years ago, signing the notebook with all of my contact information so that I could go to this very event when the time came. However, I got the invitation (via Facebook, how classy) and all I could think was how much I didn’t want any part of it.

I was partly annoyed because this past summer of my former classmates got together for an unofficial reunion but they only invited certain people and then posted the pictures all over FB. I thought this was kind of childish and rude, as did a couple of other people I still chat with online. Shortly after, the official reunion information started getting sent around and I decided I didn’t want to go. I mean, I haven’t seen or heard from most of these people in 10 years, so why should I pay money to hang out with them now? It seems like reunions are just a way for everyone to show off and brag about what they’ve accomplished, and I just couldn’t bring myself to be fake and care what anyone has done.

Maybe I’m just bitter. Maybe I’m just feeling down on myself and feel like I haven’t accomplished much of anything interesting so I didn’t want to go and feel like a loser. I’ve put on 50 pounds since I graduated, too, which is kind of embarrassing because I was always known for being skinny. I do find it amusing that the supposed hottest guy in my class has gotten fat and is now balding.

This has all sparked kind of an introspection and a desire to change a bit. I’ve turned back into the jealous, gossipy person I used to be and I don’t like it. I had left that all behind and had really made a change for the better, but recently she has reared her ugly green head again. I find myself bitching and complaining to Amy at work all the time now about Mary and FBC. The reunion has also sparked lots of gossiping and berating by me and a couple of old high school friends. This is not cool and is not the person I want to be. There is a fine line between venting to get something off my chest and talking about someone behind their back.

I’m going to start going to church again. There are two within 15 minutes that have Mass on Sunday evenings, so I have no excuse.

Also, Aunt Flo is suspiciously MIA. She has been making it seem like she’s going to stop by, but then she just doesn’t show. The least she could do is call and let me know what’s up so I stop panicking.

2 thoughts on “Reunion

  1. >oh man, I have no desire to ever go to any high school reunion. or go back to my high school way of being for that matter (although she still visits occasionally, unexpectedly). facebook has basically updated me to what everybody is up to anyway! i don't need to see them. haha, does that sound horrible?

  2. >I was not a big fan of high school. Sometimes, though I think about going to reunions to prove to others that despite being sick, I made something of myself. That's probably not a healthy thought…

Leave a Reply

