Going Bonkers

>My cat, Bella, is slowly driving me nuts. I love her to death, but she really knows how to push my buttons.

See, Bella and her daughter Rosa weren’t originally mine. BFF adopted Bella from her grandma in 2005 when she moved into her first apartment. Turns out Bella was pregnant at the time and no one knew, so BFF was in for quite a shock one night when she got home from class and there was a gray slimy thing on the floor. Since Bella was only 7 months old (I know — she is a total slut!) she only had one kitten.

About a month later, BFF had a diving accident that left her paralyzed from the chest down. One day when she was still in the ICU, she asked me if I would take the cats because her step-mom was going to give them away. I was still living at home with my parents, so I asked them and they said it was fine so we took them for what I thought was a temporary time period until BFF got “better” and could take them back again.

Well, things didn’t really work out that way. It was over 2 years before BFF got out of rehab and the nursing home and back into her own place. The problem was that her roommate (whom she needed to have with her in order to qualify for the care she needed) had a cat. Bella did not play well with others at all at that time. So, the girls stayed with me and we all moved in together with Mr. Husband into a one bedroom apartment after the wedding. Needless to say, it is a little cramped in here for two people and two cats. Especially a cat like Bella.

Within about a month of moving in, she got pissed off (literally) about something and peed on Mr. H’s coat and his favorite hat that we lying on the sofa. Not long after that, she peed on my side of the bed, so we started closing the bedroom door and not allowing the girls in there at all. I took her to the vet to rule out a medical problem and was told that it’s purely behavioral. The vet gave me some kitty Xanax, but I researched it and didn’t like the side effects, so I never gave it to her.

She went awhile without peeing on anything, but then about 6 months ago, she peed on the couch. This was a huge pain in the ass to clean up because it’s not like I could wash the freakin’ couch. I went through gallons of Nature’s Miracle trying to get the smell out and eventually I was successful. Mr. H still refuses to sit on that couch cushion.

Last week, Bella was accidentally locked in the bedroom while we were out at dinner and she peed on the bed again. I discovered it as I was getting all snuggly for bed and my foot hit a wet spot. I stripped the sheets off and doused them and the mattress in more NM, bagged up the sheets, covered the wet spot on the mattress with some old rags and a garbage bag, and made the bed again.

She also frequently pees right outside of the litterbox. They have a covered box with a door (that has been ripped off) and then that whole thing is inside one of these:

From http://www.drsfostersmith.com — love that site!
These benches have a liner inside and that’s what she pees on, thank goodness. I would die if she peed directly on the carpet. This whole contraption is in the walk-in closet in the living room. Don’t worry, we keep the door open so they can come and go as they please. The down side to this is that the smell is sometimes unbearable. I have tried everything I can think of and am pretty much out of ideas. Do I get a new style litterbox? New litter?
Anyway, the moral of the story is that I am at my wits’ end and I don’t know what to do with her. I keep thinking that once we get a house and have more space (and a basement!) it will get better, but that’s not necessarily true. Sure, the litterbox will be out of site (and smell) but we’ll still have to be extra careful and not let her in the bedroom for fear of her pissing on the bed. Do I try one of those all-natural calming aids to control her rage? It seems like she does this to prove a point and to let us know she is angry about something.
Giving her back to BFF is no longer an option because now BFF’s mom and sister have moved in to live with her and they have a dog. Plus, BFF adopted a cat and a new dog. I’m sure if it really came down to it, she would take Bella if I really needed her to, but I don’t want it to come to that quite yet.
One thought on “Going Bonkers

  1. >Holy crap, I have dealt with the same problem! My cat would pee on my side of the bed, while we were sleeping!!Try Buspirone. My vet recommended it for my cat, and it seems to be working. MUCH better for the kitty (as compared to other drugs I've researched.) If you realllllly don't want to do drugs, you can try Feliway – but it's super expensive and will affect any other cats in the household. Also, what kind of litter and how many pans do you have? We had two pans with regular clumping odor control cat litter for two cats. Now we have three pans. You should have one litter pan per cat, plus one. In two litter boxes, I have the regular cat litter and in one, I switched to this AMAZING stuff called "Feline Pine." It's really soft, and I think since my cat liked peeing on soft things (the bed, towels on the floor, clothes, whatever he could) he really likes this. Additionally, it's totally odor free. There's no more nasty cat smell coming out of the kitty litter room. It totally absorbs the urine and it's super easy to scoop out (I get the scoopable kind) – it's just incredible. I plan to switch to two feline pine and one regular. So, maybe those things (plus cleaning the litter boxes daily) will help. I thought I was going to have to give the cat up, but luckily things are going well. He's slept in the bed with us four nights running and we've had no problems. :)Good luck!!~Jenn (Ex Hot Girl)

Leave a Reply

