Weekend Wrap-Up

>Good news! I weighed myself yesterday and I have lost 3 pounds this week! I then proceeded to completely ignore my diet and had Pizza Hut for dinner, chicken nuggets for breakfast this morning, and leftover pizza for dinner tonight. In all fairness, these food choices were influenced by the kiddies — we had Mr. Husband’s niece and nephew sleep over last night and we wanted to be the cool aunt and uncle so we treated them to junk food. Isn’t that what aunts and uncles are supposed to do??

C and I baked cookies last night while M and Mr. Husband played some war game on the xbox. I used that sugar cookie mix that comes in a package and just requires butter and an egg. I thought we would be able to roll it out and use cookie cutters to make fun shapes, but the dough wasn’t thick enough. The cookies came out good and C had a good time decorating them. We bought those cans of sugary frosting that come with the interchangeable tips so that you can make different shapes (flowers, leaves, ribbons, etc.) but they proved to be a little hard for her. One of my friends suggested mixing powdered sugar and water with a little food coloring to make a “paint” for her instead. I didn’t have food coloring, so I squirted some of the frosting into the mix and made a pink paint. Then the kids wanted to mix the other colors in, so we ended up with a really tasty looking shade of gray frosting. Yum. Oh well, she had fun and that’s all that matters.

I stopped by the library yesterday morning and picked up some new books:

Perfect Fifths by Megan McCafferty
I have been dying to read this since it came out, but it’s been checked out the library constantly. It’s the last book in the Jessica Darling series and I absolutely love the first four books. They’re especially fun because they take place in my home state and I recognize a lot of the references.

Peaches by Jodi Lynn Anderson
I’ve never heard of this book or author, but the cover caught my eye and the jacket copy sounded interesting. I basically started at the beginning of the YA section and just pulled out whatever looked good.

Feels Like Home by E.E. Charton-Trujillo
I found this one the same way as I found Peaches.

The Pregnancy Test by Erin McCarthy
I saw this a couple shelves down from Perfect Fifths and the colors stood out to me. My baby fever is stronger than ever, so the title instantly pulled me in, and I figured a book by a fellow Erin couldn’t be horrible.

Leave a Reply

